Select Page

Country Profile - Mayanmar


Myanmar (formerly Burma) is a Southeast Asian nation of more than 100 ethnic groups. Myanmar is bordered by Bangladesh and India to its northwest, China to its northeast, Laos and Thailand to its east and southeast, and the Andaman Sea and the Bay of Bengal to its south and southwest. Myanmar is the largest in Mainland Southeast Asia and 10th largest in Asia by Area.


General Information:

Capital: Naypyitaw

Language: Burmese (official), minority ethnic groups use their own languages

Religion Group: Buddhist 87.9%, Christian 6.2%, Muslim 4.3%, Animist 0.8%, Hindu 0.5%, other 0.2%, none 0.1% (2014 est.)

Currency: Burmese kyat

Cryptocurrency: The Central Bank of Myanmar (CBM) announced that it does not recognise cryptocurrencies as an official currency and anyone caught trading digital assets can be imprisoned or fined.

GMT (+) 6h30


Myanmar, also known as Burma, was long considered a pariah state while under the rule of an oppressive military junta from 1962 to 2011. The generals who ran the country suppressed almost all dissent and stood accused of gross human rights abuses, prompting international condemnation and sanctions. A gradual liberalisation began in 2010, leading to free elections in 2015 and the installation of a government led by veteran opposition leader Aung San Suu Kyi the following year.

Pin It on Pinterest