Select Page

Country Profile - South Sudan


South Sudan officially known as the Republic of South Sudan, is a landlocked country in East-Central Africa. The country gained its independence from (North) Sudan in 2011, making it the newest country (as of April 2018). Its capital and largest city is Juba.

South Sudan

General Information:

Capital: Juba

Language: English (official), Arabic (includes Juba and Sudanese variants), regional languages include Dinka, Nuer, Bari, Zande, Shilluk

Religion: Animist, Christian, Muslim

Currency: Sudanese pound

Cryptocurrency: In South Sudan, cryptocurrency is still a controversial issue and there is not yet any formal cryptocurrency regulation put in place.

GMT: (+) 3

South Sudan has a population of 12 million, with Christianity the majority religion. It is a United Nations member state, and a member state of the African Union, of the East African Community, and of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development. In July 2012, South Sudan signed the Geneva Conventions. South Sudan has suffered ethnic violence and has been in a civil war since 2013. As of 2017, despite not being ranked bottom in the latest World Happiness Report, it had the highest score on the Fragile States Index (formerly, the Failed States Index), surpassing Somalia.


Pin It on Pinterest