Country Overview

Ethiopia is a landlocked country on the Horn of Africa. Ethiopia is bordered by Djibouti, Eritrea, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, and Somaliland (Somalia). A population of more than 90 million inhabitants makes it country the second-most populous nation in Africa.

General Information:

Capital: Addis Ababa 

Language: Oromo (official working language in the State of Oromiya) 33.8%, Amharic (official national language) 29.3%, Somali (official working language of the State of Sumale) 6.2%, Tigrigna (Tigrinya) (official working language of the State of Tigray) 5.9%, Sidamo 4%, Wolaytta 2.2%, Gurage 2%, Afar (official working language of the State of Afar) 1.7%, Hadiyya 1.7%, Gamo 1.5%, Gedeo 1.3%, Opuuo 1.2%, Kafa 1.1%, other 8.1%, English (major foreign language taught in schools), Arabic (2007 est.)

Religion: Ethiopian Orthodox 43.8%, Muslim 31.3%, Protestant 22.8%, Catholic 0.7%, traditional .6%, other 0.8% (2016 est.)

Currency: The birr, known before 1976 as the Ethiopian dollar, is the unit of currency in Ethiopia. It is subdivided into 100 santim.

Cryptocurrency: Cryptocurrency is still a controversial issue, there is no formal cryptocurrency regulation put in place. It is not advised to conduct cryptocurrency-related business in Ethiopia.

GMT: (+) 3Subscribe to receive Proelium Law report updates as they’re released

Need advice?

Contact us to discuss your requirements and how we can help