Select Page

UK Travel During Coronavirus: Travel Corridors

The Government has listed the 59 destinations below which now pose a “reduced risk” from coronavirus and if travelled to will not require 14-day self-isolation measures on return to England.

This is subject to these countries being the only ones you have been to or stopped over in during the 14 days prior to your return and applies to all travel to England, by train, ferry, coach, air or any other route. People arriving from these countries in England are exempt from quarantine:

Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Croatia, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Réunion, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, South Korea, Spain, St Barthélemy, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, Switzerland, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Vatican City, Vietnam.

Whilst the majority of countries on the list will have a reciprocal deal (which means no quarantine on either end), travellers leaving England could still face restrictions – including quarantine – when they arrive in one of the exempted countries. About half the countries and territories on the list currently have restrictions for arriving UK visitors.

The initial list of safe countries has been drawn up by the Government’s Joint Biosecurity Centre, working with Public Health England, and was assessed on the risk from Coronavirus, the virus’s spread and the reliability of the data. The Government has stated that the list will be revised and that any sudden outbreak of coronavirus in certain countries could require travellers to quarantine for two weeks upon returning to the UK. 

Travellers from Sweden, Portugal, Russia and anywhere else not on the list will also have to self-isolate until 14 days have passed since they left that country.

Procedure on arrival in the UK

Before arrival in the UK, passengers will still have to complete a passenger locator form. This indicates where you intend to stay for the 14 days after arrival, and contact details should anyone on your flight or passage be found to be positive for coronavirus. This procedure applies to both visitors and UK residents.


Need advice? Proelium Law is here to help you. We are continuing to work during this difficult period. Call or email us if you have an enquiry, we will call you back at a time convenient for you.

Need advice?
Contact us to discuss your requirements and how we can help

Pin It on Pinterest