Russia Country Overview

Russia is the largest country on earth and is home to an array of natural resources and diverse ecosystems. It extends across eleven time zones, shares land boundaries with fourteen countries, and has a population of around 146 million people, making it the world’s ninth most populous country.

Russia had the world’s fifth largest diplomatic network in 2019 and is one of the five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council.

Russia is also among the five recognised nuclear-weapons states, with the world’s largest stockpile of nuclear weapons. Additionally, Russia maintains the world’s fourth-highest military expenditure, spending $61.7 billion in 2020. It was also the world’s second-largest arms exporter in 2021, and had a large defence industry, producing most of its own military equipment.

Russia General Information

Capital: Moscow

Language: Russian is the main language. There are 26-35 other official languages spoken by various ethnic groups.

Religion: The main religions are Orthodox Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism.

Currency: The official currency is the Russian Ruble (RUB).

Cryptocurrency: The search results do not mention if Russia has an official cryptocurrency.

GMT: Russia spans 11 time zones from UTC+2 to UTC+12, due to its vast east-west extent. Moscow is in the UTC+3 time zone.

Need advice?
If you’d like further information, or to discuss working with us, you can get in touch via our Contact Us page or making an enquiry below.

Drop us a message

To learn more about our legal services kindly reach out by completing the form on the right. 

Alternatively, you can contact our office at +44 (0) 20 3875 7422 or leave us a message.

Our team of experts are looking forward to assisting you with your legal needs.

Need advice?

Contact us to discuss your requirements and how we can help